Skip to content

Unlock the Ultimate Final Fantasy Experience with our Step-by-Step Guide!

Unlock the Ultimate Final Fantasy Experience with our Step-by-Step Guide!



For 35 years, Final Fantasy has been a fan-favorite franchise due to its unique anthology style of storytelling that keeps things fresh with new characters and stories. The games often set the time periods somewhere between past and future while still being connected with the same plot. This universal theme of a group of young heroes gathering to fight a great evil threatening their world while exploring their internal struggles and relationships with each other is something people can relate to.

Which Final Fantasy Game Should You Play First?

Looking at the Final Fantasy franchise as a whole can be overwhelming as most of them have hundreds of hours of content to play through. If you want to ease yourself into the franchise, we recommend starting with Final Fantasy VII. This game has the easiest gameplay and combat systems to get a hang of, especially with the Limit Break system. It also gives us the most memorable characters, like Cloud, Tifa, Aerith, Barret, and Sephiroth. Final Fantasy VII even came out with a feature-length CGI and Final Fantasy VII Remake, which has prettier graphics but retains the same story with themes of pro-environmentalism, identity, and moving on from loss — elements that previous Final Fantasy stories did not have. Either version of the game is fine to pick up and play.

How to Play Final Fantasy Games in Chronological Order

If you want to do a deep dive into the Final Fantasy franchise and play all of them in chronological order, here’s the full list of games and the order in which to play them. Though you can play most of the mainline numbered games in any random order and still be fine as there is no direct continuity between them.

Stranger of Paradise: Final Fantasy Origin

Stranger of Paradise: Final Fantasy Origin takes place in the kingdom of Cornelia, a dark fantasy world version of the setting of the original Final Fantasy game.

Final Fantasy

Centuries after the events of Stranger of Paradise, Final Fantasy introduces four new young Warriors of Light, each of them carrying an orb representing the four elements that have been darkened by the four Elemental Fiends.

Final Fantasy II

In Final Fantasy II, Firion, Guy, Maria, and Leon become orphans after the Palamecian Empire destroys their hometown and kills their parents, rendering them orphans. They join the Wild Rose Rebellion and journey to stop Emperor Mateus’ plans to take over the world with his hellspawn.

Final Fantasy III

Another group of four orphaned teens — Arc, Refia, Luneth, and Ingus — are drawn to a crystal of light in the Altar Cave after an earthquake hits the village of Ur. The crystals grants the youth a portion of its power, their first set of jobs, and instructs them to restore balance to the world.

Final Fantasy IV

Final Fantasy IV centers on Red Wings captain Cecil Harvey, who questions the King of Baron’s motives after he and his knights steal the Water Crystal in a raid on Mysidia.

Final Fantasy V

Adventurer Bartz Klauser comes across a fallen meteor and finds four strangers, including King Tycoon’s daughter Lenna, and set off on an adventure to save the Crystals from falling apart.

Final Fantasy VI

Set in a steampunk-style world filled with technology resembling that of the Second Industrial Revolution, Final Fantasy VI centers on a rebel faction known as the Returners fighting the Gesthalian Empire.


With its diverse range of themes and settings, the Final Fantasy franchise is a must-play for RPG fans. Whether you want to dip your toes in with Final Fantasy VII or dive in for a full chronological playthrough, the series offers a wealth of unforgettable experiences.


What is the Final Fantasy franchise?

The Final Fantasy franchise is a long-standing series of RPG games that began in 1987. Each game typically features its own unique storyline, but themes of fantasy, adventure, and combat are present throughout the series.

What is the easiest Final Fantasy game to pick up and play?

Final Fantasy VII is often considered the easiest game to pick up and play thanks to its accessible gameplay and memorable characters.

Do I need to play the games in chronological order?

No, you do not need to play the games in chronological order as there is no direct continuity between them. You can enjoy any game in the series at any time.


For more information, please refer this link