Skip to content

SpaceX to Livestream Private Astronaut Launch for Axiom Space on May 21st

[ad_1]

Introduction

SpaceX will launch the Ax-2 mission on Sunday, May 21, at 5:37 p.m. EDT (2137 GMT) from Pad 39A at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Cape Canaveral, Florida. This mission is the second all-private flight to the International Space Station by SpaceX for the company Axiom Space, and you can watch it live online in a series of free webcasts.

Mission Details

The Ax-2 mission is commanded by former NASA astronaut Peggy Whitson, with a paying customer, investor, and entrepreneur John Shoffner serving as pilot. Saudi Arabia is flying two of its newest astronauts, Ali AlQarni and Rayyanah Barnawi, to the station on the flight. Barnawi is set to become the first Saudi woman to fly in space.

This 10-day mission includes eight days on the International Space Station.

Sunday, May 21: Ax-2 launch webcast

NASA and SpaceX will offer live webcasts of the Ax-2 astronaut launch. SpaceX’s livestream begins at 2 p.m. EDT (1800 GMT), and NASA’s livestream begins at 4:30 p.m. EDT (2030 GMT). Space.com will simulcast the launch on its website and on the web page for Ax-2 mission updates.

Monday, May 22: Ax-2 Dragon docking – 7:30 am ET

The Ax-2 crew will arrive at the International Space Station on Monday, May 22, at 9:24 a.m. EDT (1324 GMT). NASA will provide a live webcast on May 22 at 7:30 a.m. EDT (1130 GMT) to chronicle the Dragon Freedom’s approach and docking on NASA TV and via its YouTube channel. The livestream will not end with docking. Instead, NASA will continue to webcast the Ax-2 crew’s activities as they open the hatches between their Dragon and the station.

Ax-2 undocking and splashdown

While SpaceX, Axiom Space, and NASA have not released a schedule for the Ax-2 crew’s return to Earth, it is likely that at least the undocking from the International Space Station will be webcast live, if not the landing itself. The Ax-2 mission is expected to last about 10 days, placing its undocking sometime around May 31, with splashdown expected shortly thereafter.

Conclusion

The Ax-2 mission is an impressive demonstration of the commercialization of space exploration, as private companies and countries work together to explore the cosmos. Watching the mission live online is a great opportunity to witness the future of space travel and learn more about the International Space Station and its history.

FAQ

Q: What is the Ax-2 mission?

A: The Ax-2 mission is the second all-private flight to the International Space Station by SpaceX for the company Axiom Space. The mission includes four astronauts, including two from Saudi Arabia.

Q: When is the Ax-2 mission launch?

A: The Ax-2 mission launch is scheduled for Sunday, May 21, at 5:37 p.m. EDT (2137 GMT).

Q: How can I watch the Ax-2 mission live?

A: You can watch the Ax-2 mission live online in a series of free webcasts provided by SpaceX, NASA, and Space.com.

[ad_2]

For more information, please refer this link